Disinvestment at the Fourth Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions

Prepared by IKV Pax Christi

During the Fourth Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions in Lusaka, Zambia, five countries included investments on cluster munitions in their statements.

Switzerland declared that it has taken legislative measures for a ban on direct and indirect financing of cluster munitions, which entered into force on 1 January 2013. Also the Netherlands mentioned that it has adopted legislation since 1 January 2013 that bans direct investments in cluster munitions producers. Luxembourg took the opportunity to encourage all States Parties to follow Luxembourg's example and also install a disinvestment ban. Ghana declared it considers investments to be prohibited by the convention and called on all States Parties to establish national legislation to ban such investments. Finally, Denmark announced it is investigating possibilities to further engage private investors on responsible investments in relation to cluster munitions.

There is a growing group of countries that have taken action against investments in cluster munitions. Currently, 9 states have taken legislative measures to prohibit these investments, and another 27 have made an interpretive statement indicating that investments in cluster munitions are or can be seen as prohibited by the convention.