Treaty status

The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) was adopted in May 2008, opened for signature in December 2008 and entered into force 1 August 2010. To date 116 states have joined the convention, of which 89 are States Parties, and the remaining 27 are signatories and have yet to ratify the convention. See the map below, and the links at the bottom of this page, to see which countries are on board this life-saving treaty.

Country Status
Rollover country to view details \ Click and drag to navigate map
Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor
and ongoing public updates

Since the Convention entered into force in August 2010, it is no longer open for signature and states can no longer sign and then ratify. States must now become bound through the process of “accession” which has the same effect as ratification. For all states that subsequently accede to or ratify the Convention, it enters into force on the first day of the sixth month after their ratification or accession.

The CMC urges as many states as possible to accede to or ratify the convention and promote its norms.

The above map shows States Parties, signatories, and non-signatories to the convention. The map also shows countries with cluster munition stockpiles and casualties.

Alternatively, download the following documents for a list of:


States Parties (89)
Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia FYR, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mauritania,  Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Nauru, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Togo, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Zambia.

Signatories not ratified (27)
Angola, Benin, Canada, Central African Republic, Colombia, DR Congo, Cyprus, Djibouti, Gambia, Haiti, Iceland, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Namibia, Nigeria, Palau, Paraguay, Philippines, Rwanda, São Tomé and Principe, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania and Uganda.

States that have not joined (81)
Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cuba, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, DPR Korea, RO Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar/Burma, Nepal, Niue, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.