## States Parties and Signatories -- 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions

April 2014

States Parties are shaded. Signatories are on white background.

	Has or used to have stockpiles of cluster munitions*	Used to produce cluster munitions <sup>#</sup>	Has used cluster munitions	Cluster munitions were used in		Has or used to have stockpiles of cluster munitions*	Used to produce cluster munitions <sup>#</sup>	Has used cluster munitions	Cluster munitions were used in
Afghanistan	√*			✓	Lao PDR				✓
Albania				✓	Lebanon				✓
Andorra					Lesotho				
Angola	✓			1	Liberia				
Antigua & Barbuda					Liechtenstein				
Australia		✓			Lithuania				
Austria	✓*				Luxembourg				
Belgium	√*	✓			Macedonia FYR	√*			
Benin					Madagascar				
Bolivia					Malawi				
Bosnia & Herzegovina	1	1		1	Mali				
Botswana	✓				Malta				
Bulgaria	4				Mauritania				✓
Burkina Faso					Mexico				
Burundi					Moldova	<b>√</b> *			
Cameroon					Monaco				
Canada	1				Montenegro	√*			*
Cape Verde					Mozambique	1			✓
Central African	√*				Namibia				
Republic Chad				1	Nauru				
Chile	√*	1		•	Netherlands		1	√	
Colombia	¥	•	1	1	New Zealand	•	•	•	
Comoros	•		•	•	Nicaragua				
				✓				-	-
Congo, DR	√*			•	Niger	1			-
Congo, Rep.	<b>v</b> .				Nigeria	 ✓*		•	
Cook Islands					Norway	•			<b>√</b> °
Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire	√*				Palau				*
	↓ · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	~			Panama				
Croatia	•	•			Paraguay Peru	1			
Cyprus	√*					•			-
Czech Rep.	✓* ✓*				Philippines	√*			
Denmark Diihauti	•				Portugal	•			
Djibouti					Rwanda				
Dominican Rep.					Samoa				
Ecuador El Calvadar	•				San Marino				
El Salvador					São Tomé & Princip	J			
Fiji		✓	✓		Senegal				
France	•		•		Seychelles				✓
Gambia	✓	1			Sierra Leone	✓*			-
Germany	•	-			Slovenia	**			✓
Ghana					Somalia	· · · ·		,	*
Grenada				1	South Africa		1	1	-
Guatemala					Spain	1	1		
Guinea	*				St. Kitts & Nevis				
Guinea-Bissau	*				St. Vin. & Gren.				
Haiti					Swaziland				
Holy See					Sweden	1	1		
Honduras	<b>√</b> *				Switzerland	1	✓		
Hungary	✓*				Tanzania 				
Iceland					Togo				
Indonesia	1				Trinidad & Tobago				
Iraq	√*	✓	1	✓	Tunisia				
Ireland					Uganda				*
Italy	✓	✓			United Kingdom	√*	✓	1	**
Jamaica					Uruguay				
Japan	✓	✓			Zambia				1
Kenya					113	42	16	7	21

\* States marked with an asterisk have completed the destruction of all their stockpiles.

States Parties with stockpiles of cluster munitions must destroy them within eight years of the convention's entry into force for each state.

♦ Both Argentina and the United Kingdom claim sovereignty over the Falkland Islands/Malvinas where cluster munitions have been used.

O Palau reports limited cluster munition contamination from WWII-era weapons similar in function to modern-day cluster munitions

## Non-Signatories -- 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions

	Has or used to have stockpiles of cluster munitions*	Produces or used to produce cluster munitions*	Has used cluster munitions	Cluster munitions were used in		Has or used to have stockpiles of cluster munitions*	Produces or used to produce cluster munitions*	Has used cluster munitions	Cluster munitions were used in
Algeria	1				Mauritius				
Argentina	√*	√*		✓^>	Micronesia				
Armenia					Mongolia	1			
Azerbaijan	✓			✓	Morocco	1		✓	
Bahamas					Nepal				
Bahrain	1				Niue				
Bangladesh					Oman	1			
Barbados					Pakistan	1	✓		
Belarus	✓				Palestine				
Belize					Papua New Guinea				
Bhutan					Poland	1	✓		
Brazil	✓	√			Qatar	1			
Brunei					Romania	✓	×		
Burma					Russia	1	✓	1	1
Cambodia	✓			1	Saudi Arabia	1		1	1
China	✓	1			Serbia	1		\$	1
Cuba	✓				Singapore	1	✓		
Dominica					Slovakia	1	✓		
Egypt	✓	✓			Solomon Is.				
Equatorial Guinea					South Sudan				✓
Eritrea	✓		√	✓	Sri Lanka				
Estonia	✓				St. Lucia				
Ethiopia	✓		✓	✓	Sudan	✓		1	✓
Finland	✓				Suriname				
Gabon					Syria	1		1	1
Georgia	✓		1	✓	Tajikistan				1
Greece	✓	✓			Thailand	1		1	
Guyana					Timor-Leste				
India	✓	1			Tonga				
Iran	✓	✓		✓	Turkey	1	~		
Israel	1	~	1	1	Turkmenistan	1			
Jordan	✓				Tuvalu				
Kazakhstan	✓			<u>†                                    </u>	Ukraine	1			1
Kiribati				<u> </u>	UAE	1			
North Korea	✓	1		<u> </u>	USA	1	✓	✓	
South Korea	1	1		<u>†                                    </u>	Uzbekistan	1			1
Kuwait	1			✓	Vanuatu				1
Kyrgyzstan	1			<u>†           </u> †	Venezuela	1			1
Latvia				<u>├</u>	Vietnam				1
Libya	✓		1		Yemen	1			· ·
Malaysia			•		Zimbabwe				
Maldives				<u>├</u>	2imbabwe 84	49	18	13	19
Marshall Is.					04	49	10	15	19

\* Argentina has foresworn future production and completed stockpile destruction.

The Former Socialist Republic of Yugoslavia used cluster munitions.

Obth Argentina and the United Kingdom claim sovereignty over the Falkland Islands/Malvinas where cluster munitions have been used.

18 states adopted the Convention on Cluster Munitions in Dublin in 2008 but have yet to join: Argentina, Bahrain, Belize, Brunei, Cambodia, Estonia, Finland, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Morocco, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Serbia, Slovakia, Sudan, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

50 States Parties to the <u>1997 Mine Ban Treaty</u> have not yet joined the Convention on Cluster Munitions: Algeria, Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei, Cambodia, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Gabon, Greece, Guyana, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, St. Lucia, Sudan, Suriname, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yermen, Zimbabwe.

