Global problem

There are countries and territories affected by cluster munitions in every region of the world.

Producers of Cluster Munitions

34 countries have produced cluster munitions at one point or another since the end of World War II. Of this number, 16 are still believed to produce cluster munitions or reserve the right to do so. The other 18 have stopped producing the weapon prior to or as a result of joining the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Cluster munition producers:
Brazil, China, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, North Korea, South Korea, Pakistan, Poland, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Turkey, United States.

Former cluster munition producers:
Argentina,* Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Croatia, France, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.

* Argentina has not joined the Convention on Cluster Munitions but has renounced future production.