Global problem

There are countries and territories affected by cluster munitions in every region of the world.

Users of cluster munitions

The following government armed forces have used cluster munitions at some point since the end of World War II:

Colombia, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Yugoslavia (former Socialist Republic of).

Of this number, the following seven countries have now signed or ratified the Convention on Cluster Munitions, formally renouncing any future use of the weapon: Colombia, France, Iraq, Netherlands, Nigeria, South Africa, United Kingdom.

The Cluster Munition Monitor provides detailed information.