04 June 2009

Niger becomes 8th country to ratify cluster bomb ban treaty

 On June 2, the Republic of Niger became the 8th country to ratify the Convention on Cluster Munitions. Niger became the second African country to ratify the convention that bans the use, production and stockpiling of cluster munitions after Sierra Leone, who ratified at the same time that they signed the convention in Oslo, Norway, in December 2008.
The Cluster Munition Coalition (CMC) welcomes Niger's commitment to ridding the world of cluster bombs and becoming one of the countries responsible for bringing the convention into force. 30 ratifications are needed before the convention becomes legally binding.Niger has never stockpiled, produced or used cluster munitions, but is now making its signature count through swift ratification, contributing to the global momentum on the issue. During the process that led to the creation of the treaty, Niger advocated for a strong and comprehensive treaty.Last year Niger stated that "all necessary measures to ratify the convention as soon as possible should be taken" and it has kept its promise. Several states have indicated that they are very close to completing ratification procedures, and we urge them to make this a reality as soon as possible. The strength of treaty will be even greater when 30 countries have ratified and countries can be held legally accountable for fulfilling all of its obligations.