13 July 2009

San Marino and Luxembourg ratify Convention on Cluster Munitions

San MarinoPhoto: UN Treaty Section

On 10 July San Marino and Luxembourg became the 12th and 13th countries respectively to ratify the 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions.Luxembourg’s national law implementing the Convention is notable for containing a prohibition on investments in cluster bombs following the lead from the Irish government which decided to include such a ban in its national law on cluster munitions.

The Convention, which comprehensively prohibits cluster munitions, requires 17 more ratifications in order to reach the threshold of 30 that will trigger entry into force. Six months after the 30th ratification is deposited at the United Nations in New York the treaty will take full legal effect.