24 August 2009

Zambia, Croatia and Slovenia bring cluster bomb ban even closer to entry into force

Slovenia signing in Oslo, Dec 2008(© Gunnar Mjaugedal/catchlight.no)

The global Campaign against cluster bombs has received a major boost with the ratification of the treaty banning the weapons by three additional countries.

Croatia deposited its instrument of ratification at the UN headquarters on Monday 17 August followed by its neighbour, Slovenia, on Wednesday 19 August. Subsequently, on 24 August, the UN Office for Legal Affairs sent its official notification that Zambia had deposited its instrument on 12 August, making it the 15th country to do so. Seventeen countries have now ratified this crucial treaty in less than nine months. Thirteen more ratifications are needed to reach 30 and trigger entry into force six months later.